Inhale the Good, Exhale the Bad

The beginning of summer is always a hectic time for me. Although I’m out of college, I still associate this time of year with renewal and preparing for “the next big thing”, whatever that may be. As you can tell by my lack of posts these past few months, my “next big thing” is really “revisiting the big thing that I started and then failed to follow through with”. Which is a trend I’ve been noticing about myself lately. Most things that I have found interest in, and attempt to pursue, degenerates into a phase and eventually falls into the past. I’m not saying that going through phases is a bad thing, but if you do anything chronically it can quickly turn a good thing into something negative. Which is why I’ve decided to take a moment in each day to buckle down and focus on the things that make me the most happy. 12. Take 10+ minutes out of each day to meditate. Use this meditation time to clear your mind of fluff, the packing peanuts you fill your head with that solely take up space. Dive deep into what’s stressing you out at this current moment. When you realize that your negative attitude has sprouted from that one guy in the red Civic cutting you off Downtown this morning, you’ll realize how silly it actually is.

Working on Key Biscayne definitely has its perks, and lately I’ve been jogging the Rickenbacker Causeway a couple days a week after I get off the clock. The top of the causeway offers my all time favorite view of the city (it’s even better at night time). As you’re running over it, you have the endless ocean on one side of you, and the buzzing city and its skyscrapers on the other. At the end of the bridge, before I run back from the way I came, I stop at a little patch of pavement next to a quiet area of the beach where I can close my eyes and meditate for a few minutes. After creating this habit, I’m beginning to realize that it’s one of, if not the most, crucial parts of my day.

If you haven’t meditated before, begin by closing your eyes and sitting in a cross-legged position with your hands resting on your knee caps. Try to always keep your palms facing upwards (Why? Check out The Palms Up Way of Life by Joshua Becker). As you begin to meditate first pinpoint the areas of your body that are tense (usually my jawbone is clenched and my eyelids are squeezed shut) and relax them. Once your body is relaxed and comfortable, begin to open your mind to your surroundings. Maybe you hear ocean waves, birds, wind, automobiles, or silence. No matter what you hear, let that fill your mind rather than the crap that currently resides there. Remain in this stillness for at least 5 minutes, but try to make it last as long as possible. If you’re religious, maybe offer up a prayer towards the end of your meditation. Now how do you feel? The answer should be something along the lines of relaxed, rejuvenated, calm, and/or new. Before you stand up and open your eyes, remember to try to maintain this mindset once you walk away. Your mind will be clearer for tackling difficult situations and making better decisions. Trust me, those few minutes that you spare to close your eyes each day will only allow you to open them in the future.

 

7664e572069784d4d3ba6b3a7c99e407

Leave a Reply

